District History

We have a long and storied history that includes creating many of the programs and initiatives adopted nationally by the AAF. One of the most significant was founding the ADDY awards in 1960.

Established in 1924 during the first real estate and tourism boom, the Ad Fed was formed to monitor the accuracy of claims being made by advertisers. Think swamp land.  Nobody could have predicted that the organization would go on to still be around in the 21st Century, nor the impact it had during the interim.  An abbreviated history will be here soon. In the meantime you can see a lot of what our most recent history has been by visiting our Facebook History page.

The Jack Philipps Gold Medal is the highest honor bestowed by the AAF 4th District. It is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to advertising and furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and public service.


This Award was created to honor the memory of Jack Philipps, who passed away while serving as the 4th District Treasurer. His work in the advertising profession was the epitome of professionalism and service. The objective of the award is to recognize men and women of the AAF 4th District who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence, and responsibility in the areas of social concern.


Contributions to Company - The Nominee must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work; advertising agency, advertiser, media, advertising service company or related firm.


Creative - The Nominee must have demonstrated a consistent high degree of creative, original thinking in whatever area of advertising the individual has worked.


Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising - The Nominee should have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.


Contributions to Community - The Nominee should be a man or woman active in civic, religious or other groups dedicated to some phase of human or social welfare.


The first Jack Philipps award was presented in 1984. The recipients include many former District Governors and committee chairs. Past recipients are:


1984                        Mary Shine                                             Jacksonville

1985                        Fellis Carnley                                         Tallahassee

1986                        Jeanne Moorehead                                Tampa

1987                        Jack Weldon, Jr.                                     St. Petersburg

1988                        Gary Kerns                                             Orlando

1989                        Bill King                                                  Orlando

1990                        Cal Longacre                                         Ft. Lauderdale

1991                        Rose Rice                                              Miami Beach

1992                        Osvaldo Laino                                        Tampa

1993                        Charles Stiles                                         Ft. Myers

1994                        William R. Hohmann                              Ft. Pierce

1995                        Mike Mucci                                             Stuart

1996                        Bill Gregory                                            Winter Haven

1997                        William E. Drier                                      Miami

1999                        Art Rowbotham                                      Lakeland

2000                        Mike Weber                                            St. Petersburg

2001                        Jack Hebert                                            St. Petersburg

2002                        Brenda Edwards                                     Ocala

2004                        Jamie Titcomb                                        West Palm Beach

2007                        Jerry Hunnicutt                                       Fort Myers

2008                        Tom Hayes                                             Treasure Coast

2011                        Anne Grigsby                                          Ft. Lauderdale

2012                        Victor Crist                                              Tampa Bay

2013                        Terri Brown                                             St. Thomas

2015                        Jackie Barker                                         Space Coast

2016                        Jim Clark                                                Emerald Coast

Nominating criteria: Any member in good standing of the 4th District, AAF, may submit a nomination. in writing to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and be received before April 10th of each year. For proper consideration the nomination must provide all appropriate details about why the nominee should be considered for this honor.